Star Trek Ventures to Uncharted Space

I am pleased to inform you that barring something horribly unexpected, I am finished with my masters program.

I finished writing my last paper a little after 4AM yesterday, got two hours of sleep, went to work, got home and revised the paper before submitting it around 8PM. As soon as I hit send, I hopped in my car and rewarded myself with a ticket to see Star Trek and a box of Milk Duds (Yes, I was the cool guy watching Star Trek alone).

Milk Duds

Side note:

Milk Duds are best at busy movie theaters because they are the only places I have found with a high turnover over of the treat. Make sure you have dental insurance if you eat them anyplace else.

Back to Star Trek

I should preface this by saying that I do not like the Star Trek franchise; I have never been able to get into it. Watching it makes me sleepy, and you can just barely fill a thimble with my Star Trek knowledge – Most of what I do know came from the Comedy Central Roast of William Shatner.

All of that being said, I really liked the new Star Trek movie. I’m not going to do a full on review other than to say it was a fun, intense, humorous, intelligent, and well scored movie. It held my attention for every single second of its 126 minute run-time.

I know that a lot of die-hard Trekkies are pretty annoyed about conflicts with the franchises’ canons. Watching this movie was a rare instance where I could watch an historically geeky movie without the burden of knowing the source material.

What I do know of the Star Trek canon is that there are multiple continuities. My rule of thumb with continuity is, “one continuity or bust.” If a franchise has more than one continuity, I stop caring about consistency – more on that another time. Continuity is a special part of geekdom that requires more than a couple of sentences.

Bottomline:

Star Trek is good! I never thought I would be writing those words.

4 thoughts on “Star Trek Ventures to Uncharted Space

  1. Congrats on finishing.

    Now get back to the job of working for me until you no longer work for me.

Your thoughts?